school badge

Aberdare Boys’ Grammar School

Memories and Memorabilia

old building

The visit of John Morris, Q.C., M.P., Secretary of State for Wales to the School, 1975

from School Records
Names supplied with thanks by Martyn Silezin

Aberystwyth born John Morris has enjoyed a uniquely long career in Parliament. He was a Labour Member of Parliament for Aberavon/Port Talbot from 1959 to 2001. He was Secretary of State for Wales from 1974 to 1979. He concluded his career in the House of Commons as Attorney General. In July 2001 he became a life peer in the House of Lords, as Baron Morris of Aberavon.

Ioan Evans was MP for Aberdare, and later, for Cynon Valley following Arthur Probert and preceding Ann Clwyd. He was born in Llanelli but spent much of his early years in England. He entered Parliament as MP for Birmingham, Yardley in 1964, but lost his seat in 1970. He re-entered Parliament in February 1964, as Aberdare»s MP, and from 1983 for Cynon Valley. He died at the early age of 56 in 1984. Past student of ABGS J. Graham Jones has written a biographical note in the Online Dictionary of Welsh Biography1.

In classroom 1

The local MP, Ioan Evans, left, and John Morris, right,
with Martyn Bevan, Mark Hinwood and Philip Jones during a lesson.

with Ioan Evans and Tom Evans

Ioan Evans and John Morris chatting with teacher Tom Evans in the geology room.
John Morris was taught by Tom at Ardwyn Grammar School, Aberystwyth;
his first teaching post after leaving the army.

with Ioan Evans and Tom Evans

John Morris meets some student in a classroom.
Front row : left to right, Eric Tennant, Alun S. Vaughan, Jan Miasik and Phillip Luke
In the second row : left to right, Martyn Silezin and John Podpadec.

  1. J. Graham Jones note on Ioan Evans