school badge

Aberdare Boys’ Grammar School

Sporting Activities

school building

Newspaper Report of the 1941 Swimming Gala

from Elfed Davies

Aberdare Boys’ County School.

This was held on Tuesday. President, Mr. G. Ambrose, M.A., Organiser, Mr. E.J. Excell, Judge of diving,
Mrs. W. D. Towler. Results:

Junior diving : 1 I.G. Thomas; G. Romney.

Senior diving : 1 L Peters; R. James.

25 yards, Forms I : 1 G.D. Davies; 2 J. Oliver.

25 yards, junior : 1 I.B. John; 2 J Roderick.

25 yards, Middle : 1 E.W. Thomas; 2 R. Stratford.

25 yards, Senior : 1 J. Twissel; 2 W.V. Morgan.

50 yards, breast stroke : 1 W.T. Phillips; 2 H. Pendry.

Best swimming style : 1 L. Peters; 2 I. Morgan.

House squadron race, Junior : 1 Dewi; 2 Llewelyn.

House squadron race, Senior : 1 Dewi; 2 Penri.

75 yards open championship : 1 L. Peters; 2 I. Morgan.

Squadron race between Past Students and School : Past Students.

Summary of House Points.

1 Dewi, 37; 2 Penri, 35; 3 Llewelyn, 14; 4 Tudur, 7.

Aberdare Leader, 26 July 1941

Mrs W.D. Towler was Mrs Gladys Maud Towler, wife of the school’s physics master William David Towler.
The Pupils : Ifor Gwyn Thomas, Charles Gilbert Romney (Cwmbach), Leslie Peters (Gadlys), Ronald James (Abercwmboi), Glyndwr Davies (Cwmaman), John Oliver (Hirwaun), Ivor Bowen John (Park Grove), John Roderick (Abercwmboi), Elfed Wilson Thomas (Commercial Street), Ronald Stratford (Pembroke Street), John Twissell (Commercial Street), William Vivian Morgan (Aberaman), William Turbervill Phillips (Aberaman), Thomas Henry Pendry (Stuart Street), Islwyn Thomas (Park Grove).
The Gala would have taken place on Tuesday, July 22nd, 1941