Aberdare Boys’ Grammar School

Information about the contributory schools
of the 1896 intake of pupils to the school

from School Records

school building

Contributory Schools of the 1896 Entry

The table below gives information about the numbers of pupils admitted to the school on the official opening day on  September 29th, 1896.  They are listed by the pupils’ previous school.
By far the greatest number came from the Higher Grade School which was housed in the Town Board School buildings in Clifton Street, Aberdare.  Their ages varied, spanning about four years; they are shown as coming from Standards IV to VII classes at their previous school.  Most of these pupils stayed at the Intermediate School for about three to four years.

Contributory School Number of pupils
Higher Grade School, Aberdare 70
Park Board, Aberdare 11
Town Board, Aberdare 7
Miskin Higher Grade 6
Hirwaun Board 5
Llwydcoed Board 4
Miss Jackson’s School, Aberdare 4
Blaengwawr Board 3
National, Aberdare 3
Channing House School, London 2
Duffryn Board 2
Duffryn Boys 2
Merthyr High School 2
Aberaman Board 1
Ardingly College, Haywards Heath 1
Boys Board, Aberaman 1
Capcoch Board 1
Cwmaman Board 1
Dr Williams, Dolgelly 1
Duffryn Joint 1
Graig Board 1
Heath School, Pontypridd 1
Higher Grade, Cardiff 1
Higher Grade, Ferndale 1
Higher Grade, Merthyr 1
Higher National, Neath 1
Lewis’s School, Pengam 1
Long Ashton, Nr Bristol 1
Penrhiwceiber 1
St. Fagans, Aberdare 1
Taff Vale Grammar School 1
Total intake 139
We wish to thank Ian Machin, Headteacher and Judith Griffiths, Deputy Headteacher, Aberdare High School,
for their co-operation and help in compiling this information.