Aberdare Boys’ Grammar School


school building

Scholarship Results, 1914

In 1914, it was not the case that to enter the County Schools a pupil had to gain a scholarship. Indeed in this year only 8 boys and 8 girls were awarded a scholarship; the parents of the others had to fund the school place even though their child had also to attempt the entrance examination as well.

Much later in the 1950s, 60s and 70s the term passing the scholarship was still in use, even though no financial scholarship was awarded as all places were by then free. The phrase persisted and was synonymous with passing the 11-plus examination for entry into a selective secondary school.

Presented below are the names of the scholarship winners as well as the names of the boys who gained entry into the school. The previous school of each pupil is named, and readers should be aware that the Higher Standard School was the initial name of the school, opened in October 1907, later known as The Gadlys Secondary Modern School, and finally as Aberdare Girls’ Lower School.

Pupils went to the Higher Standard, still legally classed as an elementary school, after attending one of the other elementary schools in the Cynon Valley. They attended the Gadlys School for one or two years in order to study for the more advanced standards known as VI and VII. Most elementary schools taught the Standards I to V, from which it was still possible to do well in the entrance examination, but many parents wished their sons and daughters to experience the higher standards offered at the Gadlys School. The discrepancy between the pass rate between the two types of school is referred to in the extract of the press report of the Aberdare Education Committee meeting of July 1st, 1914, reproduced below.

Aberdare Education Committee

On Wednesday, July 1st, Mr. George Powell in the chair. The other members present were:—Mrs. Davies (vice-chairman), Messrs. Wm. Rees, L.N. Williams, J.P., W.M. Llewellyn, Owen Powell, Illtyd Hopkins, Idwal Thomas, D.R. Llewellyn, A. P. Jones, T. Walter Williams, W. Thomas, Dd. Davies, E. Ogwen Williams, Evan Jones, Dd. E. Davies, D. J. Thomas, with Mr T. Botting (director) and Mr T.D. Jones (assistant director).


  County school Scholarships. — Sixteen scholarships were awarded, and it was resolved to grant eight to girls and eight to boys. The highest number of marks had been gained by the following, the maximum being 290:—Boys: David Edwin Evans, Higher Std., 250; Wm. Thomas, H. Std. 248; W. John Jones, Cwmaman, 246; Rees J. Price, H. Standard (Industrial School Boy), 245; Daniel T. Edwards, H. Std., 240; Dd. R. Owen, Cwmaman, 240; F. C. Anderson, Town Council, 238; Rd. Roderick, Higher Std., 235. Should there be a vacancy, the next in order of merit is A. Stanley Morgan, Aman School, 234. — Girls: Elizabeth A. Thomas, Higher Std., 247; Alice B. Jones, Cwmdare School, 243; A. R. Jenkins, Higher Std., 237; Jane Davies, Higher Std., 233; Ann Morgan, Higher Std., 228; Caroline Collins, Higher Std., 225; Huldah Bassett, Higher Standard, 223; Doris Jones, Cwmbach, 220.—Mr W. Thomas asked if the same papers were set before boys and girls, and the Director replied in the affirmative.—Mr W. Thomas: Do the children in the outside schools have the same advantages as those in the Higher Standard School? — The Director replied that there were qualified certificated teachers for the top classes in the schools outside the centre (from Park to Blaengwawr). It should also be explained that credit was due to the various schools from which the Higher Standard children had been drawn.

There was a small intake in 1914 because the school was still recovering from the departure of the girls to Plasdraw in September 1913 and had not yet adjusted to admitting a substantially increased number of boys to compensate. We believe the following boys, which include the scholarship winners, were admitted into Form 1 in the autumn of 1914:

Frederick Christie AndersonTown Council Elementary
David Brinley BowyerTown Council Elementary & Higher Std Elementary
Richard BuxtonCwmdare Elementary
Alfred Jonah CouldreyHigher Std Elementary
Arthur Eynon DaviesAbercwmboi Elementary & Higher Std Elementary
Henry Trevor DaviesTown Council Elementary & Higher Std Elementary
Rees Baden DaviesPark Council Elementary
Daniel Trevor EdwardsHigher Std Elementary
David Edwin EvansPark Council Elementary & Higher Std Elementary
Evan Glyn Evans Park Council Elementary
James Llewellyn Evans Capcoch Elementary
Jeffrey David EvansHigher Std Elementary
John Mansel Evans Higher Std Elementary
Idwal JohnTown Council Elementary & Higher Std Elementary
Edmund John JonesCwmbach Elementary
John Jacob JonesCwmdare Elementary & Higher Std Elementary
Thomas John JonesCwmaman Elementary & Higher Std Elementary
William John Jones Cwmaman Council Elementary
Albert Gwilym KevillPark Elementary & Higher Std Elementary
Clifford James Lewis Hirwain Elementary
Daniel Thomas LewisSt Fagans C of E & Higher Std Elementary
Allan Stanley MorganCwmaman Elementary & Aman Elementary
Morris MorganPark Elementary
David Rhydwyn OwenCwmaman Council Elementary
Philip David Phillips Cwmaman Elementary
William Henry Phillips Cwmbach Elementary
Rhys John PriceHigher Std Elementary
John Thomas RobertsAbernant Elementary & Higher Std Elementary
Richard RoderickTown Council Elementary & Higher Std Elementary
Henry George StutsburyTown Council Elementary & Aberaman Elementary
Emrys Oswald ThomasHigher Std Elementary
William Thomas Town Council Elementary & Higher Std Elementary
Harold Ernest WelsbyCwmdare Elementary
David Rees Williams Aberaman Boys Elementary
John Edward WilliamsLlanelly Boys County Intermediate School
Harold WilliamsTown C of E Elementary
Hedley Lambert WilliamsTown C of E Elementary
Ivor Ford WilliamsHigher Std Elementary
Richard WilliamsCapcoch Elementary